Club Calendar

To jump to the current month, click here.

September 2018

Monday, September 10, 7pm · First meeting of the 2018-2019 season – welcome!  We'll start with an introduction to the Portland Camera Club and our activities. The club's Executive Board will be introduced.  Also, the Summer Print Challenge: Photographer's Choice  One print per person. Try to bring your print in by 6:45pm. All prints will be displayed and voted on by anyone present before the meeting and during the break. After the break, the winner will be announced, and we will have an informal critique session on the winner and other prints as time allows. Moderator is Mike Cullivan. The maker of the highest scoring print wins a free membership in the Portland Camera Club for the 2018-2019 season!

Monday, September 17, 7pm · Discussion Night: Introduce Yourself to the Club through a Projected Image.  Members and newcomers, you are invited to show one of your images as a way of introducing yourself and your work. This will be a welcoming and supportive discussion. Moderator is Eric Piskura. Please submit one image as a JPG by emailing the image file to pccupload@gmail.com (this is the club's submissions in-box). Every entry will receive a confirmation email within 48 hours. Images should be sized at maximum width: 1400px, max. height: 1050px. Deadline for images is 10:00 AM on Monday, Sept 17th.

Monday, September 24, 7pm · Guest Speaker: Ron Rosenstock  Professional photographer and workshop leader Ron Rosentock is this year's Maine Photography Show juror; the "special theme" this year is infrared photography. Visit Ron's website www.ronrosenstock.com.

October 2018

Monday, October 1, 7pm · Judging Seminar  An image-judging seminar with small group discussions. Presenter TBA.

Monday, October 8, 7pm · Projected Image Critque  How could this image be improved? Send in an image you would consider putting into competition and we'll discuss it in a supportive and helpful atmosphere. Please submit one image as a JPG by emailing the image file to pccupload@gmail.com (this is the club's submissions in-box). Every entry will receive a confirmation email within 48 hours. Images should be sized at maximum width: 1400px, max. height: 1050px. Deadline for images is 10:00 AM on Monday, Oct. 8th.

Monday, October 15, 7pm · Skill Development Night  How to prepare projected and print images for presentation & competition. Presenters: Mike Leonard and Bill Shumaker.

Monday, October 22, 7pm · Guest Speaker: C. David Tobie  David Tobie's presentation will be on color management. Visit David's website.

Monday, October 29, 7pm · Guest Speaker: JoAnn McDonald  JoAnn McDonald's presentation will be on astrophotography. Visit JoAnn's gallery on Flickr.

November 2018

Monday, November 5, 7pm · Projected Image Competition  Two images per member. Please observe the new maximum pixel size: 1920px wide by 1080px tall. Submission deadline: midnight Wednesday, October 31. Click here for image submission info.

Note: tonight is the last night to bring in prints for next week's Print Competition.

Friday, November 9 · Bridges of Friendship Exhibit Opening  An exhibit celebrating the 30-year anniversary of sister cities Portland, Maine, and Archangel, Russia, titled "Bridges of Friendship" opens at the Stonewall Gallery in Yarmouth. Visit the Bridges of Friendship web page.

Monday, November 12, 7pm · Print Competition  Two prints per member. Deadline for entries is November 5.

Monday, November 19, 7pm · Skill Development Night  PCC member Enigmah Archer Hirsch's presentation will be about infrared photography.

Monday, November 26, 7pm · Guest Speaker: Juan Pons  Professional photographer and teacher Juan Pons' presentation will be about wildlife photography. Visit Juan's website www.juanpons.org

December 2018

Monday, December 3, 7pm · Projected Image Competition  Two images per member. Dimensions must be 1920px maximum width, 1080px maximum height. Submission deadline: midnight Wednesday, November 28. Click here for image submission info.

Monday, December 10, 7pm · TBA 

Monday, December 17, 7pm · Holiday Party & Member Slide Shows Reprise 

Monday, December 24, · Holiday Break, No Meeting 

Monday, December 31, · Holiday Break, No Meeting 

January 2019

Monday, January 7, 7pm · Mobile Phone Photography, Session 1  "Phone to Frame" is club member Samm Marquis' first presentation on mobile phone photography, followed by a discussion of favorite mobile phone photo apps. (See Jan 21 for Session 2.)

Note: tonight is the last night to bring in prints for next week's Print Competition.

Monday, January 14, 7pm · Print Competition  Two prints per member. Deadline for entries is January 7.

Monday, January 21, 7pm · Mobile Phone Photography, Session 2  Presentation and discussion of mobile phone images, building on Session 1 on Jan 7.

Monday, January 28, 7pm · Guest Speaker: Heather Perry  Maine professional photographer Heather Perry's presentation will include images from one of her projects, Southgate Faces: Faces and Voices from an American Shipyard (with Hopper McDonough). Visit Heather's website www.heatherperryphoto.com.

February 2019

Monday, February 4, 7pm · Projected Image Competition  Two images per member. Dimensions must be 1920px maximum width, 1080px maximum height. Submission deadline: midnight Wednesday, January 30. Click here for image submission info.

Monday, February 11, 7pm · (TBA) 

Monday, February 18, 7pm · Skill Development Night  Creating slide shows.

Monday, February 25, 7pm · Skill Development Night  Shooting and lighting with club member Eric Piskura. 

March 2019

Monday, March 4, 7pm · Projected Image Competition  Two images per member. Dimensions must be 1920px maximum width, 1080px maximum height. Submission deadline: midnight Wednesday, February 27. Click here for image submission info.

Note: tonight is the last night to bring in prints for next week's Print Competition.

Monday, March 11, 7pm · Print Competition  Two prints per member. Deadline for entries is March 4.

Monday, March 18, 7pm · Member Slide Shows  Always a popular, entertaining night of short slide shows by PCC members.

Monday, March 25, 7pm · Guest Speaker: Michael Blanchette  Professional photographer Michael Blanchette returns! Visit Michael's website www.michaelblanchette.com

April 2019

Monday, April 1, 7pm · Speaker: John Bald  Club member John Bald will talk about his experiences shooting images of baby bunnies to illustrate a new book written by his wife, children's book author Cynthia Lord.  Borrowing Bunnies: A Surprising True Tale of Fostering Rabbits will be published by Farrar Straus Giroux in February 2019. John shot 3,000 images of the bunnies, from birth to maturity, and his presentation will cover the challenges he faced photographing fast moving rabbits, post processing the images, and working with an editor and an art director. Visit the Borrowing Bunnies web page and John's website.

Monday, April 8, 7pm · Projected Image Competition  Note: this is the final projected image competition of the 2018-19 season. Two images per member. Dimensions must be 1920px maximum width, 1080px maximum height. Submission deadline: midnight Wednesday, April 3. Click here for image submission info.

Monday, April 15, 7pm · (TBA)

Monday, April 22, 7pm · One Shot Competition  For all the details, visit the One Shot page.

Saturday, April 27 · Day Long Photography Workshop  A day long workshop, speaker to be announced.

Sunday, April 28 · A Day of Shooting  A day of shooting with the April 27 workshop leader, location to be announced.

Monday, April 29, 7pm · Guest Speaker: Brenton Hamilton 

Note: tonight is the last night to bring in prints for next week's Print Competition.

May 2019

Monday, May 6, 7pm · Annual Club Meeting & Print Competition  Tonight is the Portland Camera Club's annual business meeting, including the election of Club President and Executive Board members for next year. Also, tonight is the final print competition of the 2018-19 season. Two prints per member. Deadline for entries is April 29.

Monday, May 13, 7pm · Annual Club Banquet with Guest Speaker Alexandra de Steiguer  Visit www.alexdesteiguer.com.